So... I haven't blogged in a while simply because I've been crazy busy and our first orientation was this weekend. Last week went something like:
Monday- first day of school holy ship. The school is huge and no one speaks English. I find my classes only by following a group of girls I recognize from my homeroom. Can't find the cafeteria. Everyone eats so much bread here how is no one fat??? English class is super fun, helping people with their english is helping with the whole friend thing. Maybe this won't be so bad...
Tuesday- feeling pretty good about school. Arrive at my class. There's no one there. Find the math teacher walking down the hall who speaks basic English.He doesn't have a clue. Find Aniko Honig feeling like a lost cheeseball. Turns out I don't have a first OR second period on Tuesday. Thanks for telling me you stupid timetable you made a better tree than piece of paper... During breaks on of the girls who speaks English tells me that her mother packed me a Pottyos (not spoken at all like its spelled, its like cooked, curdled milk enrobed in chocolate and super amazing) which was super sweet. I still don't understand what my teachers are talking about minus in my language classes, but other than that morning, I don't get lost.
Wednesday- Really good day. I get invited to go hang out and see Charlie St.Cloud, I don't get lost, and I have my first Hungarian Lesson with Aryane (Brazil) Collin (Alaska) and Samantha (New York) super fun. That evening I have to pack because I will spend the night in Buda at my host grandma's house on thursday and then orientation this weekend.
Thursday- wake up, put stuff in car, off to school, school is uneventful that is to say going well same old same old. People eat so much bread here!! I still don't understand it. At host grandmas house which is filled with the smell of cigarettes... ew. :| I work on my hungarian and take a nap which is more like a 3 hour nap but whatever. Homework is sort of pointless here when you don't have the books (Exchange students get them on tuesday) and you can't understand what the teacher is saying...
Friday- wake up and walk to the bus station with Kata,Fanny and their grandfather. I'm walking to school for the first time today. After 2 buses and 3 trams we get to my stop and I walk but the tram station to school which totally wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. We had media class today and watched Nasfurato with English subtitles. That's probably the most accomodating teachers have been so I was greatful to actually understand it. :) After school Janos meets me outside and we take the tram to West End mall where I meet up with the other exchange students. Its so fun to meet all the people I've been talking to on facebook for the past few months. Spoke a lot of English with some Hungarian mixed in. It's so nice to finally meet everyone! We get to the hotel and eat dinner, go through orientation and then free time in the hotel for the rest of the night. Lots of pin trading and jolly good fun.
Saturday- breakfast in the hotel, orientation, lunch more orientation. and then Budapest :D we went to Hero's Square and Parliament and the mall just walking around and taking the train, metro, tram, and bus. I love that my student card gets me on all of them for free. Europe is amazing. Alonso is a creeper but Frank (CA) Ariana (FL) Andressa and Caio (Brazil) are my lovely body guards. I love these people to pieces. After Budapest we go up to my room squish all the beds together and Makayla (WA) Sam (NY)Ariana (FL) Carliegh (FL) Collin (AK) Tiago, Caio, Andressa (Brazil) the Japanese students and a few other people all hung out till like midnight eating chocolate and talking. Which was super fun we're what you'd call "the good kids" That is to say we can remember the nights fun...
Sunday- wake up at 5 in the morning with food poisoning. Stupid turkish food. So I call Janos and Krisztina picks me up. So now I'm all cozy in my bed back in Mariahalom with some crackers and tea. Good deal. I have the option to stay home from school tomorrow but because it's Collin's birthday and we're making plans and doing stuff I think I'll tough it out. Which is definately a first. Really goes to show you how amazing things are going I guess...
So yeah. Good deal.
♥
No comments:
Post a Comment