Saturday, November 27, 2010

Finally Posting...

So... I haven't posted in a while simply because I didn't feel like it. Simple as that. The past 2 weeks have been lovely I love having a routine and a relatively comfortable,simple, new life. Thanksgiving was on Thursday. There are 5 American exchange students in Budapest so, being the awesome people that we are (5Americans and Aryane our lovely Brazilian), we got permission to skip school in order to properly celebrate this important American holiday. [Which contrary to popular belief of the rest of the world, it is not an American excuse to stuff ourselves with food. Well, I take that back because it probably is for someone out there... But not for the vast majority of people I've gotten know throughout my life...] We went to SPAR and bought everything we needed thanks to Carleighs overly organized list and then carried it all (slightly over $150 and 70+ pounds) back to the apartment. Together we made mashed potatoes, apple pie, stuffing, 5 different desserts, beans and rice, mac and cheese corn pudding, gravy, cranberry fruit salad, mixed vegetables, and yeah, lots of food. That we made all more or less from scratch. I didn't know any of us could cook and everything came out amazingly (Sophia and Collin's Chicken was by far the best thing I've ever tasted) we also made hand turkey's and a skit to show Carleigh's host family what Thanksgiving is all about. It was fun to see everyones Thanksgiving traditions simply because they differ so much.

So yeah, at about 6:30 we all sat down around a table loaded with the fruits of our labor and gave thanks as a new sort of family.

That was Thursday however today.....

ITS SNOWING!!!

This morning I woke up and remembered that I had horse riding (which due to weather condition I didn't end up going to) and so I checked the time on my computer which led me to facebook which led me to look at all of the exchange students statusés which all were freaking out about snow. There is a curtain on the lower part of my window so I didn't see it when I woke up so I went into the living space in the house and YES SNOW SNOW SNOW SNOW SNOW! So I threw on some warm stuff and ran outside.But snow is cold so I was out there for like 45 minutes of snow balls and snow men before going inside and curling up in Yoga pants and a robe with some hot apple pie. Which is when I figured I should probably update this blog before my mom starts asking about it again.... so here you go :)

P.S. I'm curious as to who reads my blog. So drop me a comment! I want to know who you are. :)

2 comments:

  1. Katie: Rusty forwarded it to me...congratulations on a wonderful celebration! you sound terrific! I'm dying to know how your language skills are coming along! Prosit!

    ReplyDelete